Cricket World Cup History:

The Cricket World Cup first time was played in England in 1975. 15 matches were played among 8 teams. Till now, 11 World Cup events have been played, out of which 3 were played in England. England will also host the Cricket World Cup in 2019. Here is the list of World Cup winners which cricket playing nations have won till now.

Cricket World Cup Winners:

World CupSeasonWinner
Prudential World Cup (in England)1975West Indies
Prudential World Cup (in England)1979West Indies
Prudential World Cup (in England)1983India
Reliance World Cup (in India / Pakistan)1987/88Australia
Benson & Hedges World Cup (in Australia / New Zealand)1991/92Pakistan
Wills World Cup (in India / Pakistan / Sri Lanka)1995/96Sri Lanka
ICC World Cup (in UK)1999Australia
ICC World Cup (in Kenya / South Africa / Zimbabwe)2002/03Australia
ICC World Cup (in West Indies)2006/07Australia
ICC Cricket World Cup (in Bangladesh / India / Sri Lanka)2010/11India
ICC Cricket World Cup (in Australia / New Zealand)2014/15Australia


World Cup Stats:

Australia is the team who has won 5 World Cups and is way ahead than others. Next comes West Indies and India with two World Cup titles. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won one World Cup each.

Teams without World Cup:

We have seen the cricket world cup winners teams, but here are those teams who don’t have title in their name.

  • England
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Bangladesh
  • Zimbabwe
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Afghanistan

Favorites for World Cup 2019:

Since the exit of England from World Cup 2015 in the group stage, England is transformed to a team to beat across the world. England are one of the favorites for World Cup 2019. Australia, India and Pakistan are the others teams that have potential to lift the world cup.

Source: The information presented here is collected form here.